Complete Story


Town of Argos Superintendent receives National Award

Jamie Lindstrom, superintendent of the town of Argos, Indiana, received the Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award during the American Public Power Association’s National Conference in Orlando, Florida. The award recognizes managers of small utilities serving fewer than 2,500 meters. These managers have a very small staff and must assume multiple roles. The seven hats they must wear are: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, human resources, and community leadership. 

Award winners are pictured with APPA Immediate Past Chair and President and CEO, American Municipal Power, Jolene Thompson (L) and APPA Board of Directors Chair and Executive Director, Kansas Municipal Utilities, McPherson, Kansas, Colin Hansen (R).

Jamie Lindstrom        

Jamie oversees all planning and design aspects for the community's four separate utilities: electric, water, wastewater, and street. Jamie has served Argos in his current role since 2017 and was a lineman for the town for a decade before that. He takes the lead on many town projects, from daily operations to long-term planning and grant applications. He also serves as a commissioner on the Indiana Municipal Power Agency's Board of Commissioners. In his role with Argos, he is responsible for a host of administrative responsibilities, including approving all utility claims and billing, keeping track of all four utilities' expenses and revenue, and ensuring that rate studies are conducted. Not only does Jamie work to manage budgets and keep records up to date, but he is more than willing to get out in the field and get his hands dirty alongside utility personnel. This includes routine maintenance, linework, and disaster response. Whenever the town experiences a power outage, Jamie is the first on the scene to find a solution and get the community's lights back on. 

Printer-Friendly Version